Goat Confit

While eating my way through Seattle with the bf, I discovered my love for goat.  The furry animal that has delicious and surprisingly healthy meat.  I’ve had an on going love affair with goat cheese for years.  So, I figured anything that produces milk that tasty must also be good for other things.

The bf and I are adventurous diners and enjoy trying things that are rarely found on traditional menus.  The goat confit at Quinn’s immediately caught our attention for several reasons.  The first being that an adorable English couple sitting next to us raved about it.  They were in Seattle solely to eat.  They even researched foodie blogs months prior to their trip.  We were immediately friends.

The second reason is the description of the dish.  “Goat confit, emmer, foie gras, lamb heart, pickled peppers.”  Who wouldn’t want to try lamb heart?  We learned that emmer is an amazing grain.  We are now on the search for it.

The third reason the goat confit caught my attention may come as a surprise.  I am pretty health obsessed. And I recently read that goat meat has half the calories of a porterhouse and more protein. Not sure how healthy it is when you add the foie gras but I chose to ignore that.  I was on vacation.

Check out Quinn’s if your travels take you to Seattle.  Make sure you ask for Matthew at the bar.  That man is pure genius when it comes to food and beer knowledge.
http://www.quinnspubseattle.com/

Leave a Reply

