Hey Rosetta! at Chop Suey

We were on a mission to see live music while in Seattle.  That’s what you are supposed to do in Seattle, right?  Hey Rosetta!, a 6 piece indie rock band from Canada, was a favorite.  They got me as soon as I saw the banjo and violin.  They have a great layered sound that doesn’t translate quite as well on the album.  Or maybe I’m just a sucker and love everything live.  Check them out for yourself.  I don’t know what it is about a banjo!  Maybe the bf needs a new hobby.

http://www.myspace.com/heyrosetta
http://www.heyrosetta.com/

I can’t close without mentioning the venue…  Chop Suey, it is a tiny and odd space.  You know those giant paper dragons you see in Chinese parades?  Well one was hanging from their low ceiling with a smoke machine in the mouth of the dragon.  I haven’t seen (or smelled) a smoke machine since high school dances.  I was told that I obviously don’t go clubbing.  That is correct.  I am damn near 30 and straight.

Leave a Reply

