Midwest Treat

I introduced my Texas friends to a midwest tradition.  Chili and cinnamon rolls.  Forget chili and cornbread.  Pull off a piece of cinnamon roll and dip it in the chili.  Sound a little crazy?  Don’t judge until you try it.  I’m not even a dipper and I love it. The super sweet roll balances perfectly with the spicy chili.  The group thought I was crazy until they tasted it.  They provided the chili and I provided the sugary treats.  It is important to note that at the end of the meal ALL of the cinnamon rolls were gone.  The same can’t be said for the cornbread.  I think the combination was a hit.

We also tried a new beer the same evening.  The bf and I went to Whole Foods searching for a saison.  After asking the right questions to determine what I like, the beer guru recommended Blanche De Chambly.  It is on the fav list now.

One Trackback to “Midwest Treat”

Leave a Reply

