Dandelion Greens

Photo from FoodScout.org

When I see dandelions, I think of the boy crazy test we did as little girls.  Rub the dandelion on your knee and if it leaves a yellow spot, that means you are boy crazy.  Of course we all had yellow knees.  We were also all boy crazy.

We picked up our produce co-op this weekend and there were dandelion greens in the bin.  The boy crazy story was my first thought.  My second thought was, “You can eat dandelion leaves?”  I immediately pulled off a leaf for a taste.  They are delicious!  They have a wild, sort of bitter, and almost nutty taste.  Turns out they have tremendous health benefits and loads of vitamins too.

We ate them raw first and I made a citrus dressing to compliment their flavor.  Olive oil, white wine vinegar, lime juice, lime zest, fresh cilantro, salt, and pepper.  I threw in a little toasted garlic too.  So good.  They are getting sauteed tonight.

Don’t judge me if you see me cultivating a corner of dandelions in the backyard this summer.  Now I know why Lucy loves to eat weeds.

Leave a Reply

