Half Marathon Training and Champagne

Ice and Champagne

I got tricked.  The fiancé has been trying to get me to train for a marathon for the last year.  My answer was always a very adamant NO.  Then one night after a couple glasses of wine, he suggested a half marathon (typical sales tactic).  I whole heartedly said yes at that moment.  I woke up the following morning and thought “SHIT! What the hell did I agree to do!”  I panicked for a week then got on a training schedule with a poor attitude about it.

I quickly learned how important shoes and positive state of mind are when running distance.  Until tonight, I have been running in my super cute Nikes.  And also running with excruciating foot pain.  Ok, not excruciating, but it hurt…bad.  I barely made it a mile last night before I thought I was going to have to hail a cab home.  I was kind of blaming my excessive wear of stilettos for the pain.  I thought it was because my feet weren’t used to this much activity without being elevated 4”!  Thank god I was wrong.  It was just my shitty running shoes.

I hauled my ass to Luke’s this evening and picked up a new pair of kicks specially fitted for my pain.  I was so excited when I got back to my hotel (in H-town again) that I immediately changed into my gear and laced up my not-so-cute Adidas.  I mapped a 1.75 mile route to ease into it.  I finally returned just over 5 miles later happy and in very little pain! The shoes are a hit.  I might have pushed it though…now I’m lying in bed with ice on my foot and champagne in my hand.

My takeaway from this whole experience?  Why can’t good running shoes be cute?  I don’t like spending $135 on something unattractive.

3 Comments to “Half Marathon Training and Champagne”

  1. I feel ya! My running shoes look like orthopedics! But in this particular case I’ll take comfort over fashion!

  2. I am so proud of you, you are becoming addicted! I have a friend who works for Mizuno and they are coming out with a brand new shoe. I am going to email her and ask them about them, hopefully they are cute. Go gilr!

Leave a Reply

