Food Blog and Asparagus Soup Recipe

I am going to become a professional soup chef.  Yep, soup; not sous.  Now I have to give myself a pat on the back.  I am pretty damn good at creating scrumptious soups.  Because it is so cold this week, I will be featuring a few of my recent creations.  The soup du jour tonight is asparagus and leek soup because I had 2 lbs of asparagus that were about to go limp.  If you have read my recipes before, you know I am not very good at measuring, so use your best judgement on how much of each ingredient.

Before we dive into the recipe, I need your opinion.  The husband and I have talked about creating a food blog.  That means I will have a food blog and will do all the posting while he takes photos.  We are in a disagreement about the name.  I like TasteAndTattle.com.  He hates it.  Other options are DamnDelicio.us and KarlEatsFood.com.  What do you think?  Or do I just post to TPJ since I will be doing all the damn work?  I already purchased all the urls so don’t try to beat me to it.

Asparagus and Leek Soup

  • 1 large leek chopped (white and pale green parts only and rinse well after you chop)
  • 1 chopped shallot
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2-3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 lbs asparagus cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • Heavy whipping cream (until it looks right and tastes right and other cream substances will work)
  • Fresh grated parmesan to taste

Cook leek, shallot, and garlic in butter until the leek is softened. Add asparagus, broth, and water and simmer until asparagus is tender.  Probably about 10 minutes.  It will get pureed, so it is okay if you over cook it a bit.

Purée soup in a blender until smooth. Put it back in the pot.  Stir in cream, cheese, and add S&P to taste.  I let it simmer for a while at this point to help reduce some of the liquid.  I might have added too much water.

If you want to get fancy and French.  You can pour it through a sieve before you add the cream.  I did not do that.  I am lazy, but if someone asks me, I will say I prefer to keep my soup rustic.

4 Comments to “Food Blog and Asparagus Soup Recipe”

Leave a Reply

