Acorn Squash Soup Recipe

I seriously owned the kitchen this week.  Seriously.  The food blog name winner is KarlEatsFood.com, but it might need to be MistyEatsFood.com.  Just saying.  I have a feeling you might agree after you try my recipe for acorn squash soup.  The husband’s reaction after his first bite…”Holy shit!”

Why acorn squash? I had them sitting in a bowl in my kitchen for 2 months.  It was time to get rid of them.  I did a little research on how to prepare the squash.  I kept reading that you should peel it and then boil it.  How the hell do you peel that thing?  I would cut a finger off.  I made the smarter decision and roasted them.  Then I used my basic soup base.  Onion, garlic, and chicken stock.  Here’s the full recipe.

Acorn Squash Soup

  • 2 acorn squash
  • 1/2 yellow onion chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves chopped
  • 1.5-2 cans of chicken broth (or more depending on how it looks)
  • Thyme
  • Sage
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 1 big pinch of sugar
  • Lemon or balsamic vinegar

Preheat the oven to 450.  Half the acorn squash and discard the seeds and strings.  Place them skin side down in a baking dish.  I put a little water in the dish too.  Not sure why, but I have always done it that way.  I also put a tiny piece of butter on each squash.  Bake squash for 30 minutes.

While the squash cools a little, saute the onion and garlic in a couple tablespoons of butter until tender.  Spoon the squash out of the shells and throw it in the pot with the onion mix.  Immediately add the chicken broth.  I eyeballed the amount and made sure it was enough to cover the squash.  Add S&P and a little thyme and sage.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10-15 minutes.  It won’t take long since you already cooked the squash.

Transfer to a blender and puree until smooth.  Return it to the pot.  Stir in the cream now.   Don’t get crazy.  Do small amounts at first to get it where you like it.  I added a little more thyme and sage at this point.  Then I decided to throw in a large pinch of sugar to balance all the savory.  It also needed more salt.

Ladle it into bowls and squeeze lemon over it.  I have also done fig balsamic vinegar.  The vinegar bite finishes it perfectly.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

