For the Love of Cabbage

I love cabbage.  I eat it so often that I don’t suffer from the the typical cabbage side effects.  Even if I did, I would just blame Fred.  Poor Fred gets blamed for any and every nasty smell that occurs in the house.

I found a new way to prepare cabbage last night.  Grill it!  Oh yes.  I used that contraption on the deck that I typically like to avoid.  The cabbage was so delicious.  I had a small head, so I just quartered it.  I think I will probably 8th it next time so that I can get as much grill char as possible.  Before I grilled it, I rubbed olive oil on it.  Then I just flipped it every few minutes as char started to appear or as it started to look limp.  There are so many innuendos in this paragraph; I must ignore them. 

While it did its thing on the grill, I mixed up a salad dressing.  Actually, I looked up a salad dressing this time thinking I might find one that is better than my own mental stash.  Yeah right.  I have yet to find a dressing that I haven’t had to modify the crap out of to make it delicious.  My modified dressing is below.  Sorry I don’t measure much; most are best guesses.

  • Juice of two limes
  • Olive oil, about the same amount as the lime juice
  • White wine vinegar, to taste or about a tbsp
  • Fish oil, couple dashes
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Cayenne, just a little
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • Sliced serrano, to taste
  • Plenty of salt, only kosher or sea

Blend it all together.  Drizzle the dressing over the cabbage just before you serve it.  I forgot to get a photo before we dug in, but you still get the idea.

Leave a Reply

