Archive for June 13th, 2012

June 13, 2012

The Original is Always Best

Do you like cover songs?  I’m still making my judgement.  I was getting my spin on at the gym tonight when I heard a cover song that sounded like bad karaoke.  Karaoke rarely sounds good, but this cover was really bad.  It was Rhiannon by Best Coast.  They chose a Fleetwood Mac song to cover!  Really…  Bad decision, Best Coast.  No one can complete with Stevie.  No one.

Of all the songs out there, I wonder why Best Coast chose a song that already gets overplayed and exploited like a Kardashian.  At least try to choose a song that doesn’t recall ear bleeding moments in a smoky bar, because I am pretty dang sure I have heard Fleetwood Mac in every karaoke experience of my life.  That and Journey.  Ugh…  Don’t even get me started on Journey.  A friend once told me Don’t Stop Believing is the white people’s national anthem.  He is right.  I immediately think of bouncing, screeching girls and fist pumps.

The original is always the best.

