Please Don’t Lose a Finger

Do you know how dangerous onion chopping can be?  I learned that this week when a very sweet friend made us dinner.  I almost dropped my wine glass when I saw her dive into the wrong side of an onion with a wobbly knife and very determined look in her eye.  The girl could have lost a finger.  Not really.  The knife was barely sharper than a butter knife, but it was still a pretty dramatic moment.

I decided to immediately take over.  First thing we did was get rid of the knife.  Then we had a lesson.  I felt like I was in the scene from the Julia Childs movie.  Rather than describe to you how to properly cut an onion, you can just watch Jamie Oliver do it in this youtube video.  Unfortunately the video doesn’t show his handsome face.

Leave a Reply

