Juicing and Rebooting

I am sorry I didn’t share any mouthwatering Monday night dinner photos with you today.  We didn’t cook dinner last night.  We juiced. Yes, juiced.  Doesn’t this go against every fiber in your body when you love to cook as much as the husband and I do?  Well, yes.  But, we were inspired.  We watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead and wanted to give it a try.  The inspiration ended at about 11 am on Day 1.  That is when I felt like my stomach was eating itself and all I had to eat, I mean drink, was a juice with far too many vegetables and far too few fruits.  But I still choked it down and rallied.  Shitty mood included.

Until dinner this evening, I was starving, irritable and refusing to take a peek at Pinterest because even the ugliest crockpot, one dish, piece of crap meal would only increase the aforementioned hunger induced irritability.  But  then my mood was lifted.  *tears of happiness*  

It was like seeing rainbows and unicorns after a terrible storm.  The dinner juice was quite possibly some of the most beautiful colors I have ever seen.  And it was delicious!  I was shocked.  Loads of beets, peppers, and sweet potato…sounds like the flavor of dirt to me.  That is not the case!  It was slightly sweet and thick and yummy.  But…I am still hungry.

Now there is the possibility that I thought it was so delicious because I had a wannabe gazpacho for lunch and some nasty green thing for a snack.  I don’t think that is true though.  Even if you have no plans of doing a full on detox, you have to try this recipe.  It was taken from the Reboot Your Life program.

Sunset Blend Juice

  • 1 lg Sweet Potato
  • 1 med Carrot
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper
  • 2 lg Red Beets
  • 2 Golden Delicious Apples
  • 1 Orange (optional)

Juice, Pour over ice, Enjoy!

The “Enjoy!” with the very enthusiastic exclamation point was Reboot’s.  Not mine.  Let’s keep that clear.  And the orange should not be optional.  It keeps away the dirt taste.

I should also note that I gave up my morning Diet Coke for hot water with lemon.  That might have been the start of the sour mood. #angrybitch

4 Comments to “Juicing and Rebooting”

  1. I have laughed from beginning to end. What an honest and funny post about your experience! I definitely will be trying that juice recipe.

  2. Sure looks pretty! I’m tempted at all though, I admit. I much prefer EATING my food to drinking it. Lots of time in my 80’s to drink my meals.

Leave a Reply

