Christmas Crafts

Christmas crafts with poinsettias.

Some people call me a scrooge because I don’t like most Christmas decorations.  I don’t like Santa hats.  I don’t like ornaments.  I don’t even like the color red.   But I love mercury glass, glitter, small live trees, and candles.  I have the Christmas spirit; it is just a little unexpected.  We also live in a little bungalow, so I choose to have just a few things that represent the holidays.

Holidays = crafts and my first project was this morning.  I purchased a couple small poinsettias (not red ones) and came up with a different way to display them with things I had around the house.

The first step was to immediately trash the foil wrapper around the pot.  Tacky.  Then I found some small glass containers that are meant to hold candles.  Because the containers are clear glass, I had to find a way to hide the pot and dirt.  The containers are also not a perfect cylinder, so wrapping the outside of it would have been a chore.  So…I wrapped the inside!  I just used some cheap butcher paper I had in a closet.  After all that it was still looking a little boring.  I didn’t have any ribbon, but I found some fancy schmancy baker’s twine.  I gave the outside of the containers a few twirls and called it a day.  I think it is pretty cute!

 

3-craft2-craft

Leave a Reply

