Savory Bread Pudding – Christmas Menu Must Have

It just hit me today that Christmas starts this weekend.  Wow.  How did that happen?  And how is it a surprise every year?  I have to say that I am super excited.  All of my shopping is done and the menu is planned.  Now I just have to impatiently wait.

We got the opportunity to test a couple new recipes last weekend when we had a small, intimate Christmas dinner with some friends.  It was similar to Friendsgiving but with glitter and the scent of pine!  Of course I forgot to take photos of the food.  We were too excited about consuming one of the best holiday meals we have ever had.  Photos of the dinner décor will have to do.

My favorite dish was a savory bread pudding.   I wanted a twist on the traditional stuffing.  I was a little nervous the texture would be strange, but oohhh girl.  It was so good that I am blogging about it without a photo just because you need to put it on your menu immediately.   I have eaten it every day since Saturday, and I am making it again on Christmas day.  Just writing about it makes me want to go grab a bite.

I adapted a recipe I found on West Elm’s site.  Yeah, they occasionally post recipes.  Who knew?  This should be easier to follow than my usual recipe posts since they provide actual measurements!

Leek and Prosciutto Bread Pudding

  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 4 cups leeks, sliced 1/4” thick (white and light green only)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • fresh pepper
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2.5 cups whole milk
  • 2.5 cups heavy cream
  • nutmeg, freshly grated
  • 2/3 cup gruyere, shredded
  • 6 slices of prosciutto, cut into thin strips
  • 2 loaves of brioche or challah, cubed
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped chives
  • .5 cup roasted shiitake mushrooms (toss with olive oil and salt and roast at 400 until crispy)

Preheat oven to 350.  Melt butter over medium heat and add leeks.  Season with salt and cover.  Stir as needed.  Cook until leeks are soft, about 15 minutes.  Now season again with S&P to taste.

In a large bowl mix together the eggs, milk, cream, large pinch of salt, pepper, nutmeg, and  cheese.  Add the leeks to the bowl and toss to combine.

In a buttered baking dish, line the dish with the bread.  Pour the mixture over the bread.  Let soak for 15 minutes.

Bake for 30-45 minutes or until pudding is set and the top is brown and bubbly.

Scatter with the mushrooms, chives, and a bit of truffle oil before serving.

 

Christmas Table Christmas GarlandChristmas Ornaments

Leave a Reply

