Saying Goodbye

lucyThis has been the hardest week of my life.  I had to say goodbye to my best friend, Lucy.  She had been battling bone cancer and did an amazing job hiding it.  She finally gave away her secret over the holidays and let us share her pain.

I honestly never thought this day would come. I kept tacking on another year to her life span with every birthday that passed.  I was convinced she would be at least 13.  Not almost 9.  It isn’t fair, but our 9 years together were beyond special.  We went through so much and were always a duo.  There was even a time when I wasn’t known as Misty, but Misty & Lucy!

When I realized that the end was near, I was so scared of making the decision to help her leave.  But in true Lucy fashion, she took control and told me when it was time.  She looked at me Friday morning refusing to break eye contact and even pawed at my tears until I understood.  We then spent the rest of the day and her final night cuddled on her bed.

The last 9 years of my life were better because Lucy was part of it.  She might not be here physically, but she will always be part of me and part of my heart.  I love you, baby girl.

Tags: , , ,

4 Comments to “Saying Goodbye”

  1. So sorry for your loss…so hard! I lost Jordan after 16 years. Thinking about you. Hugs!

  2. Poor Lucy! Roman & I will miss her dearly!

  3. Misty, I’m so sorry to hear about your beloved Lucy.

  4. Sorry to hear about Lucy. She was well loved, and will be missed dearly. Hugs and Kisses!

Leave a Reply

