Cry Face Competition

cryfaceI have the most hideous cry face on the planet.  Scratch that.  I have the second most hideous cry face.  I don’t care though.  I am owning it, because I have learned that bad cry faces are good for a giggle.  That being said, this is going to sound like a sad story, but it might actually make you smile.

We recently lost our black lab and beloved family member, Lucy, so there have been a lot of tears in our house.  For some reason, Lucy loved to hangout in the bathroom with me.  She always claimed her spot on the bath mat to watch me get ready or to sneak her snout in the shower.  I had a moment this morning when I prepared to step around her when I got out of the shower and realized that she wasn’t there.  It was one of those breakdowns with giant crocodile tears and pitiful gasps for air.

Now the funny part happens.  As I am crying, I looked up at the mirror and immediately smiled and then had a really good giggle.  My cry face was giving Claire Danes a run for her money!  If you watch Homeland or remember My So Called Life, you are familiar with this face.  It is absolutely awful and painful to look at!  There are even blogs, pinterest boards, and tumblr accounts that exist only to document her cry face.  The fact that my cry face is almost as bad as hers makes me a little proud!  If nothing else, it is a good distraction and mood lifter when I feel the tears coming on.  So next time you feel a big lump in your throat, own it and cry with your bad self knowing that someone else out there looks worse than you.

XOXO,

Misty

One Comment to “Cry Face Competition”

  1. My condolences about losing Lucy. And yes, Claire Danes’ cry face is absolutely the most hideous. Amuses the heck out of me though! as does my own when I catch a glimpse of it.

Leave a Reply

